3rd Ministerial Conference of the Danube Cooperation Process

The 3rd Ministerial Conference of the Danube Cooperation Process (DCP) was held on April 18, 2007, in the Federation Palace, in Belgrade.High representatives of the Danube countries, the European Commission, the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe, and relevant international organizations active in the Danube river basin, have participated in the Conference.

After the welcoming address of the President of the Republic of Serbia, statements of the participants were given on the results achieved and the possibilities for future cooperation within the Process.

The role and importance of the Sava Commission, as a new organization in the Danube basin, has been emphasized in the speeches of Dr. Erhard Busek, Special Coordinator of the Stability Pact for SEE, as well as the representatives of the Parties to the Framework Agreement on the Sava River Basin.

The Sava Commission was represented by the Chairman, Mr. Kemal Karkin, and the Secretary, Mr. Dejan Komatina. The key points of Mr. Karkin's statement included the importance of the Sava river within the Danube basin, the importance of cooperation between the Sava countries, peculiarities of the Sava Commission and, finally, a great interest of the Sava Commission for an active participation in the DCP.

A joint declaration has been adopted at the Conference, where a support of the DCP participants is given to the joint initiative of the ICPDR, Danube Commission, and the Sava Commission, for achieving a Joint Statement on Development of Inland Navigation and Environmental Protection on the Danube River.

The protection of river basins was set in the DCP Indicative Work Program 2006 – 2008 as one of the priorities in the field of environment, recognizing, as a relevant task, the preparation of the Sava River Basin Management Plan and Programme of Measures which is being led by the Sava Commission.