About the basin

The Sava River Basin, the major river basin of Southeastern Europe, represents home for 8.1 million people, covers approx. 97,200 km2, extending into the territory of the 6 countries, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosna and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro and a small part of Albania. As a vital source of water for its people, ecosystems, and economies the Sava River Basin is an integral part and prerequisite for the sustainable socio-economic development for all its riparian countries and the whole region.

With an outstanding biological and landscape diversity, from its source in Alpine mountains on the west to the east to its confluence with the Danube River on the south border of Panonian Plain in Belgrade, the Sava River Basin hosts large complex of alluvial wetlands (Posavina - Central Sava Basin), lowland forest, national parks (Triglav, Plitvice, Risnjak, Sutjeska, Kozara, Una, Tara, Durmitor and Biogradska Gora), Ramsar sites (Lonjsko Polje, Bardača, Crna Mlaka, Peštersko Polje, Obedska bara, Zasavica and Cerniško lake), areas of protected habitat and species, with some of the floodplains still intact, supporting the flood alleviation and biodiversity, representing one of the “crown jewels” of the European nature.